Fleet 1 Warms Up for the Championship

The Harbor 20 Fleet 1 spend the the weekend on the water, tuning up, practicing and sizing up the competition in anticipation of the annual Class & Fleet 1 Championships to be held at NHYC next weekend.

On Saturday, the BCYC hosted the Harbor 20 Tune Up Regatta. Twenty-four Harbor 20s participated for a total of 5 races on an overcast, light/shifty wind day. Consistency was not the name of the game, with sailors ranging 1st places and 10th places in the same regatta. Carter Ford won for the A fleet while Lee Sutherland won for the B fleet. Results can be viewed here.

On Sunday, the NHYC hosted the Fall Schock Regatta. Thirty-two Harbor 20s participated on another overcast, light and shifty day of 4 races. The front of the A fleet had a very talented and competitive group of skippers, with Gary Thorne ending up with the 1st place for the A fleet. Kurt Wiese, a newcomer to the Harbor 20 fleet, easily took 1st place in the B fleet. The results are here.

Next weekend, NHYC will host the two-day Class & Fleet 1 Championships, which is the official end of the Harbor 20 season. Bill Menninger will be defending his 2010 A fleet victory while Karl Pomeroy, the 2010 B Fleet Champion – now in the A fleet, leaves the B Fleet Championship undefended.  Past A and B Fleet Champions can be seen here.

In addition to the Championship, next weekend will be the final races that count towards the coveted High Point Series Trophies. The High Point Trophies are awarded to the A and B Fleet skippers who have the best total score for the season in their respective fleets (requiring at least 75% participation in High Point events).  The current leader-board and previous winners can be viewed here and is current going into the championships.

Skippers that have not yet registered for the Championship are encouraged to sign up now, and online here. The current Entry List can be viewed here.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.